Telangana Krishna Pushkaralu 2016 Dates TS Krishna Pushkaram

Telangana Krishna Pushkaralu 2016 Dates - Telangana Krishna Pushkaram: The Telangana State Government announced its decision to organise Krishna Pushkaralu form 12th August 2016 to 23rd August 2016. which is being organized on a large scale for the first time in the newly formed state of Telangana. The Krishna Pushkaram (Maha Pushkaralu) starting from August 12th 2016, also called as 'Maha Kumbhamela' comes once in every 144 years.

Telangana Krishna Pushkaralu 2016

The Maha Pushkaralu is for a period of 12 days and ends on August 23rd, 2016. Several ghats have been developed in Telangana region on the banks of Krishna River for the devotees to take a holy dip and perform rituals for ancestors Immerse in the holy waters of river Krishna.

Nalgonda District Wadapally shrine, Mattapally, Nagarjuna Sagar, Chandampet Mahaboob Nagar district Beechupalli, Alampur & Nandimalla & other places. Telanagan Endowment Department expected two crore devotees visit these places during pushkaram.
Telangana Krishna Pushkaralu

Main highlights of the Telangana Krishna Pushkaram 2016:

  • Rs.600 crore sought for Krishna Pushkaram works for the construction of bathing ghats and infrastructure facilities for pilgrims..
  • 50 bathing ghats will be constructed and existing ghats will be repaired.
  • Construction work of the new ghats will be monitored.
  • The ghats would come up at Nalgonda and Mahbubnagar districts along the banks of krishna river.
  • To oversee the arrangements in two districts namely Nalgonda and Mahbubnagar senior officers would be debuted. 
About Krishna Pushkaralu:
Pushkaram is a holy festival that is celebrated once in every 12 years at each of the 12 major rivers of India, the Krishna is one among them.

Krishna Pushkaralu, a 12-day festival of worshipping the river is held once in 12 years. Every 12th year Jupiter’s entry into the constellation Virgo (Kanya rasi) marks the Pushkaram for Krishna. The celebrations include reverence of ancestors, spiritual discourses, devotional music and cultural programmes.

Theoretically, the festival lasts as long as Jupiter remains in the corresponding zodiac sign (generally, for one year). 

However, it draws major crowds only during the first 12 days. The first twelve days are known as Adi Pushkaram, and the last twelve days are called Anthya Pushkaram. 

Krishna Pushkaralu 2016 Places in Telangana:

Krishna river goes through only Nalgonda and Mahbubnagar districts in Telangana. Krishna Pushkaralu will celebrate in Telangana Two Districts Mahaboobnagar and Nalgonda.

Mahaboobnagar District Krishna Pushkaralu places are: Jurala, Beechupalli, Rangapur, Alampur, Nadi Agraharam, Chintarevula, Nandimalla (Narayanpet), Krishna, Pasupula and Panchadev Padu (Maktal), Chellepad (Weepanagandla), Jataprole (Weepanagandla), Somasila (Kollapur), Malleswaram, Manchalakatta and Lingala.

In Nalgonda District Krishna Pushkaralu places are: Nagarjunasagar, Wadapally in Damaracharla mandal, Mattapally and , apart from 5 places of Mellacheruvu mandal, Utlapally in Peddavura mandal, Adavidevulapally in Damaracharla, Mahankaligudem in Nereducharla are locations.